Why I’m Pursuing My Dreams…Again

In my last post, I talked about what I want to be when I “grow up.” Actually, I kind of went on a rant that took a completely different turn, but it did in fact have something to do with my new [-ish] goals and dreams!

New_Picture_(1)

[^^I really like Gilmore Girls so I apologize now for all of the memes I will most definitely be using now and forevermore. You have been warned.]

That being said, I have always taken a profound interest in photography. In fact, I even started my own business about 5 years ago, which got a little lost when I moved to NY, started online school, and got married. I honestly didn’t think I was that great, and maybe I wasn’t, but I have decided that doesn’t matter because I love it!

I appreciate photography… Not because it’s currently cool to take a snapshot of your dinner or to share with everyone how apparently awesome your life is through snaps, but because I love to capture moments in time that can be remembered forever.

Think of a time when someone took a photo of you that you didn’t know was being taken. That could be really bad because you forgot to suck in your gut, or it sometimes turns out to be super awesome because it is a moment you will cherish forever.

It has been said that “a picture is worth a thousand words.” Don’t ask me who said that, but they are pretty darn right. Almost every picture I have is accompanied by a story, a purpose, a precious memory.

I love creating images that give feeling; that speak to those who see it.

My current dream is that I would be a wedding photographer.

Honestly, that was so scary for me to type! I’m nervous that I’m not good enough, that I don’t have what it takes, and that other people will beat me to being the best  [how selfish, but I’m being transparent here].

But, based partly on my last post, I have decided that God placed this passion in my heart for a reason and it would be a disgrace for me not to pursue it! If I try and I fail at least I know I tried, but if I never try I only have myself to blame for my lack of success or happiness.

That being said, I spent some time today taking some shots of my own ring. It feels magical when you get a great photo. Sometimes you create something that says “this moment was beautiful” and that is what I love.

Please feel welcome to browse my photos and give me your honest opinion. I am just getting started [baby steps!], but I cannot wait to see how God uses this passion of mine!

DSC_0161DSC_0430DSC_0493DSC_0490

Comment your favorite photo/ thoughts!

3 thoughts on “Why I’m Pursuing My Dreams…Again

  1. Wife Talk says:

    I love that you are following your dreams!! You should reach out and see if there are any styled shoots in your area! It would be great for you portfolio and low stress because it’s not an actual wedding. I actually just participated in one this week. It was so much fun. A rental company, florist, wedding planner, makeup artist, and four photographers who met on RTS all worked together! It was great!!

    Jessie (:

    Like

Leave a comment